Identity area

Reference code

AU WA S392




  • 1895-01-01 - (Creation)

Level of description






Context area

Name of creator

AU WA A227 - YALGOO CLERK OF COURTS (1895-06-01 - 1982-01-01)

Administrative history

A Clerk of Courts, W.M. McBride, was first appointed to Yalgoo in June 1895. From 1902-1906 the function of Clerk of Courts was combined with that of Mining Registrar and Sheriff's Bailiff. Although a Magistrate came from Cue to Yalgoo to hear cases from 1905/6, the position of Clerk of Courts remained until 1982.

Name of creator

AU WA A1565 - LICENSING COURT - YALGOO (1911-02-21 - 1923-08-15)

Administrative history

The liquor licensing laws of Western Australia were consolidated in "An Act to consolidate and amend the Law relating to the Sale of Fermented and Spiritous Liquors, No. 32 of 1911", known as the Licensing Act 1911.

This Act established licensing districts, licensing courts and their constituted members and described the various categories of licences which could be granted by the courts.

Licensing districts conformed with existing electoral districts with the provision to amalgamate or divide electoral districts into one or more licensing districts as considered necessary.

A licensing court was established in every licensing district and consisted of three persons appointed by the Governor. All were ex-officio Justices of the Peace and the Chairman had to be a Police or Resident Magistrate. Members were appointed for a three year term.

Licences could be granted for the following: Publican's general; Hotel; Wayside-house; Australian Winder and Beer; Australian Wine; Australian Wine Bottle; Packet; Railway Refreshment Room; Spirit Merchants; Gallon; Brewers; Eating-house, Boarding-house or Lodging-house; Billiard-table; Temporary; Occasional.

Under the Employment Brokers' Act 1909, applications for such licences were received by the licensing magistrate in the relevant district. An amendment to the Act in 1912 transferred this authority to the licensing court of that district.

All classes of liquor licences were granted for the duration of one calendar year. Licence fees were based on the annual rental value of the property in the case of a publicans' general licence, while fixed fees were levied for all classes.

The Liquor Act Amendment Act 1922 abolished all existing licensing courts thoughout the State and brought into being a single State Licensing Court and Licences Reduction Board. This Court granted licences on a State wide basis empowering it with exclusive jurisdiction to hear and determine all applications regarding licensing and to set the conditions for the granting of licences and permits.

Archival history

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Written applications to the Licensing Court, Yalgoo.


System of arrangement


Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access


Conditions governing access (legacy)

Open access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Related units of description

Related units of description

Access points

Place access points

Description control area

Level of detail




Archivist's note

Range Control Symbol = 1 -

Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related places