Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Legal Status Text

Statutory Body

Authorized form of name


Other form(s) of name

Description identifier

AU WA A1585

Description area

Dates of existence

1928-04-26 - 1931-03-27


As a result of a resolution of the Perth City Council, a conference was called of the local government bodies within the Perth metropolitan area in July 1926 and the following resolution was passed:

“That in the opinion of this conference, representative of local authorities within the metropolitan area, it is necessary that a development plan shall be prepared for the said area, setting out the traffic arteries, provision for recreation spaces, and generally the lines upon which the district shall be developed during a period of at least twenty-five years.”

At a subsequent meeting in January 1927 it was resolved to approach the Government by deputation and ask for the introduction of a Bill to create a Metropolitan Town Planning Commission. Such a Bill was introduced in December 1927 and passed without amendment being gazetted in April 1928. The Bill was based on a Victorian model.

The Commission was authorised to inquire into and report upon the present conditions and tendencies of urban development in the metropolitan area, setting out:

(a) general plans and recommendations with respect to the better guidance and control of such development or of any portion thereof; and

(b) estimates in reasonable detail of the cost involved in the construction, maintenance and administration of all matters or things the subject of such recommendations.

The scope of the Commission’s report was to address street and road requirements, existing means and future requirements of transport, traffic regulation, waterfront and river improvements, including bridges, amenities, classification of districts for residential, factory, business or noxious trade purposes, open spaces, land subdivision, buildings, housing and food supply.

The metropolitan area was deemed to comprise the following: The Cities of Perth and Fremantle, the Municipalities of Claremont, Cottesloe, East Fremantle, North Fremantle, Guildford, Midland Junction and Subiaco, and the Road Districts of Bassendean, Bayswater, Belmont, Canning, Claremont, Cottesloe Beach, Fremantle, Melville, Peppermint Grove, Perth, South Perth and Swan.

The Commission was composed of eight members comprising a Perth City Council member, three Councillors from other local government authorities, three Government officers by reason of their special expertise and the Engineer from the Perth City Council.

Under its enabling legislation, the Commission had the powers of enquiry of a Royal Commission conferred upon it. The Commission held its last meeting on 27 March 1931 and its report was tabled before Parliament at that time.

(SOURCES: "Report of the Metropolitan Town Planning Commission", December, 1930; "Western Australian Government Gazette", 26/04/1928)


Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Creation: Metropolitan Town Planning Commission Act (No. 30 of 1927)

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Related function

Related unit of description




Description of relationship

Dates of relationship

1928-04-26 - 1930-12-31

Control area

Rules and/or conventions used



Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion


Archivist's notes