Series S1383 - RECORDS - VARIOUS

Identity area

Reference code

AU WA S1383




  • 1841-01-01 - 1873-12-31 (Creation)

Level of description




Other papers


Context area

Name of creator

AU WA A632 - LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (1832-01-01 -)

Administrative history

On 1 November 1830 an Order-in-Council was issued in England, which Order was published in Western Australia on 29 December 1831, "for the establishment of a Legislative Council to make all necessary laws and to constitute all necessary courts for the peace, order and good government of the settlement". These powers, granted under the terms of an Imperial Act of 1829 which empowered the Crown to authorize any three or more persons to make laws for the colony, were subject to the provisos that any law or ordinance made by the Council must have been first proposed by the Governor or officer administering the Government and was subject to disallowance by the Secretary of State. Owing to the delay in the receipt of the Order-in-Council in Western Australia, it was not until 7 February 1832 that the first sittings of the Legislative Council were held.

The Legislative Council as first constituted consisted of five official members all of whom also constituted the Executive Council. These were: Captain James Stirling R.N., Governor; Captain Frederick Chidley Irwin, Commandant; Peter Broun, Colonial Secretary; John Septimus Roe, Surveyor General; William Henry Mackie, Advocate General.

In 1839 the appointment of four non-official members was also sanctioned.

An ordinance passed in 1870 provided for the establishment of a Legislatiave Council with 18 members: 12 elected, 3 officials (Colonial Secretary, Surveyor-General and Attorney-General) and 3 nominee non-officials. A property franchise had to be satisfied both by those voting and by those seeking election to the reconstituted Legislative Council.

The Governor, who was no longer a member of the Council, had the power to prorogue or dissolve the Council at any time. He retained a power of veto and remained primarily responsible to the Secretary of State in London.

With the achievement of responsible government in 1890, through the Constitution Act of 1889 as enacted in the Imperial Act of 1890, a bicameral legislature was established. It consisted of an elected lower house, the Legislative Assembly, and a nominated upper house, the Legislative Council. The latter was to become an elected house after six years or when the population exceeded 60, 000 whichever occurred first. The Council became fully elective under the Constitution Act Amendment Act of 1893. Eligibility to vote included a property qualification until 1964.

Archival history

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Correspondence, reports and other papers of the Legislative Council. Includes some letters to Governor and Colonial Secretary. Records include Bills with related correspondence 1862-1864; reports and returns relating to Crown Lands 1850-1869; papers concerning the Dixon Inquiry into the mishandling of convict funds 1859; financial estimates and statements 1846-1869; Governors' speeches at the opening of the Legislative Council 1862-1865, 1869, 1870-1873; papers relating to the Harwood v Cumiskey Case Appeal 1859; Post Office and Savings Bank returns 1841-1863; reports on roads and bridges 1855-1868; and papers concerning the customs Ordinance 1860.


System of arrangement


Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access


Conditions governing access (legacy)


Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Related units of description

Related units of description

Access points

Place access points

Description control area

Level of detail




Archivist's note

Range Control Symbol = 25 - 33

Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related places